• dates
  • references
  • services
  • links

Oneohtrix Point Never - Good Time (Soundtrack)

Der von Oneohtrix Point Never produzierte Score von "Good Time" wurde in Cannes als bester Soundtrack ausgezeichnet, nun erscheint er bei Warp Records am 11. August, feat. Iggy Pop!

Heute erscheint mit “Leaving The Park" bereits die zweite Single aus dem Soundtrack Album!

Hier reinhören: www.pointnever.com/leaving-the-park 

„Sechs Jahre nachdem "Drive" das Festival begeisterte und Regisseur Nicolas Winding Refn und Ryan Gosling endgültig zu Stars ihrer Zünfte machte, legen die US-amerikanischen Brüder Josh und Benny Safdie mit "Good Time" ein furioses Pendant zu Winding Refns stilprägendem Gangsterfilm vor: "Good Time" ist ebenfalls ein heist movie, mit "Twilight"-Darling Robert Pattinson als Hauptdarsteller und einem herausragenden Elektro-Soundtrack von Oneohtrix Point Never.“ (Spiegel Online)

19 July 2017: Oneohtrix Point Never (Daniel Lopatin) reveals the second single from the forthcoming album Good Time Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, “Leaving The Park"!

As a center piece to the film’s score “Leaving the Park” encapsulates the paradoxical nature of the main character Connie’s struggle to manipulate reality as it spins out of control. As one of the album’s many standout tracks, this riveting instrumental piece showcases Oneohtrix Point Never’s ability to tell stories through intricately woven melodies. 

At once recognisable in the lineage of influences ranging from synth prog, new age, library music and IDM, and yet driven by Lopatin’s beautiful, disquieting and alien approach to songcraft, “Leaving the Park” builds and expands on the hallmark Oneohtrix Point Never sound that has made him one of the most consistently inventive musicians of the contemporary music landscape.

Already receiving standout praise due to Oneohtrix Point Never’s celebrated score and a career-best performance by Robert Pattinson, Good Time is a hypnotic crime thriller following Connie (Pattinson) in a twisted odyssey through the New York underworld in a desperate attempt to get his brother out of jail (watch trailer).  It comes to US cinemas from 11 August 2017. 

"I had a good feeling when I walked into their midtown office, which was more like a shrine to everything they loved  -- amongst which was a massive Akira print side by side with one of King of New York. They told me they were setting out to make a genre film. To me the Safdies are doing something really unique and yet drenched in tradition. I think of Jarmusch, Tarantino, Carax -- directors whose love of the history of cinema is too strong to keep out of the filmmaking itself, but remain totally idiosyncratic anyway. We share an affection and reverence for bruised and battered stuff, and I think we both feel this urge to enshrine the history as it is now, not as it was then. On our own terms."

-Daniel Lopatin

Oneohtrix Point Never - Good Time Original Motion Picture Soundtrack 


01 Good Time

02 Bail Bonds

03 6th Floor

04 Hospital Escape / Access-A-Ride

05 Ray Wakes Up

06 Entry To White Castle

07 Flashback

08 Adventurers 

09 Romance Apocalypse

10 The Acid Hits

11 Leaving The Park

12 Connie

13 The Pure and the Damned featuring Iggy Pop


Press reactions to the original score:

“Good Time looks terrific, bringing a scrappy sheen to the Safdies’ native borough. But more essential to its tight clench is the knockout underscoring, an almost nonstop blitz of intoxicating electronica from Brooklyn-based experimental composer Daniel Lopatin, who records as Oneohtrix Point Never. Lopatin also collaborated with Iggy Pop on an original closing-credits song, aptly titled “The Pure and the Damned.” Throughout, the prog-rock synth sounds conjure echoes of the vintage films of William Friedkin, Michael Mann and perhaps a hint of Assault on Precinct 13 John Carpenter, and yet the sonic carpeting never feels derivative.” - Hollywood Reporter

"It’s perfectly matched with the score provided by Oneohtrix Point Never’s Daniel Lopatin, which nods to Tangerine Dream–style VHS thriller soundtracks of yore while going someplace far more inventive and expressive than most current imitators. Lopatin’s anxious squiggles of melodies and sonic assaults give us as good a sense as any of what it feels like inside Connie’s head." - Vulture

- - - - 

Daniel Lopatin (b. 1982) aka Oneohtrix Point Never is a musician, composer, Mercury Prize nominated producer, and label founder of Software Recording Company living and working in Brooklyn, New York. He has released numerous EPs and full-length albums - most recently the critically acclaimed Garden of Delete (2015) on Warp Records. The Hammer Museum in Los Angeles organized a film exhibition "Ecco: The Videos of Oneohtrix Point Never and Related Works" around his work (2016). His latest original film score for Good Time (dir. Josh and Benny Safdie) premiered in official competition at Cannes for which he won the coveted Soundtrack Award (2017).

He has been commissioned by museums, organizations and festivals such as Frieze Projects New York (2017); Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2016); Holland Festival (2014); Tate Britain, London and MoMA PS1, New York (both 2013); Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Washington, D.C., and Saatchi & Saatchi, London (both 2012); and The Museum of Modern Art, New York (2011). His film scores include Josh and Benny Safdie Good Time (2017), Ariel Kleiman Partisan (2015), and Sofia Coppola Bling Ring (2013) and his production credits include Anohni, FKA Twigs, and Nine Inch Nails among others.

Artist: Oneohtrix Point Never

Album: Good Time (Soundtrack)

VÖ: 11.08.2017

Label: Warp Records

Vertrieb: Roughtrade

Format: CD/ LP/ DL


homecurrent releasesdatesreferencesserviceslinkscontactimpressum